The smaller lighthouse was built in 1898. After about 30 years of use, the taller one was built in 1926. They mark the southern boundary of the Lake Winnipeg Narrows.
Those who found it before the hint:
- Phil Ower
The hint shed no more (double) light on the location.
Two for the price of one!! Historic one built near the end of the 1800s, replaced in 1920s. Both still standing.
Continuing on with the theme of lighthouses this round, we visit Cape St. Elias and Pinnacle Rock on Kayak Island in the Gulf of Alaska.
This lighthouse was built in 1913-16 but automated in 1974. For more information on this lighthouse, visit http://www.kayakisland.org.
The other item of interest in the image is Pinnacle Rock. This 200 meter tall rock blocks the sound from the lighthouse requiring a unique double trumpet to send the foghorn out on both sides of Pinnacle Rock.
The original location for the light was at the south end of Pinnacle Rock but due to the steepness, the lighthouse was constructed in its current location.
Not fog, nor rain or anything else stopped these players from locating this lighthouse, all before the hint:
- Phil Ower
- Eloy Cano